Impressions of Chicago (Part 2)

Okay, while I’m still at it, (I mean updating my blog, I figured that I will do a quick one to conclude my Chicago post).

5. Meeting Yonathan and Eva and their son from Mexico

The day before heading to DF (Thankgiving in the states), I was hanging out at the dining hall of the hostel in the evening. I was reading on how to get from the airport to the hostel by a taxi and I was going to stay at Hostel Rio de Janerio or something like that since it’s dirt cheap. Like less than US$10 per night. I was musing that how wonderful it would be if there’s someone from DF in the dining hall and I could talk to him/her. Anyhow, I was musing away and there was this guy who sat down next to me. He smiled at me before sitting down. I continued to muse on my unimportant thoughts. Then the guy who sat down next to me got up and switched to sitting in front of me. And then he stood up and was talking in spanish to a woman standing away from the table. I figured what the heck, no harm asking him where he’s from. I asked “De donde es” and he replied “Mexico”. Wow. We talked a bit more and he said that he’s from DF.

WHAT ARE THE ODDS OF THAT HAPPENING?

Anyway, his wife-to-be and his son joined us later. Yonathan said that the area of the hotel that I intended to stay in wasn’t safe (for foreigners). He recommended Condesa, Roma and Reforma (neighbourhoods) if I do look for a place. They were cool and helped me to look for accommodation for the next day.

6. Talking to this french, taiwanese and brazailian guy at the hostel

Brazil guy – Fernando. 20 years old. After the snoring incident, I requested for a change in room. Met him in the room at 10.30pm. Started talking a bit. He’s in the states for a year. He speaks good English. Played pool in the dining hall the same night. Hung out the next day. Went with him to the House of Blues to get something for his dad since his dad kindly sponsored the US trip. He asked for a tour of the concert hall. Awesome. He went with me to the post office to post something back to Singapore. I had brunch at Due (apparently, there’s 2 good places for the Chicago deep dish pizza. there’s Uno and Due – one and two in italian). We asked for directions to Uno and Due from a local and she said Due is her favourite. So we head to Due. The pizza was great! Had a beer with it as well. Fernando and I went back to the hostel and bought a 6 pack of Blue Moon. Drank in the room. He demonstrated his Brazilian Jiujitsu on me. Fucking painful. All the arm-locks and headlock, etc. Oh yes, did I mention that he was in the high school wrestling team in the states? He’s super cool guy. For his age, he’s smart. Anyhow, he was leaving for a flight back to Brazil in the afternoon like 3pm. Before he left, he gave me a Brazilian soccer t-shirt. Damn cool of him.

7. Guy snoring in the dormitory in the hostel

There was this professional snorer in my dormitory. It was so fucking bad that everyone else woke up at 4am and got out of the room  at 4.30pm. During the intervening 30minutes, the snorer was shouted at and his bed was shook. But that dude continued to snore the morning away. He’s the worst snorer that I have ever heard in my life (the next day, one of the guys confronted him and the latter said that he doesn’t usually snore). Anyhow, I played on the grand piano till like 6.30am and then went for breakfast.

8. Parades. Millennium parade and Thanksgiving parade.

Leave a Reply

