A romantic proposal

Love Actually – this romantic comedy which I rewatched yesterday and this morning. If you haven’t watched it, the movie is about the love stories of various characters whose lives are intertwined in some ways.

My favourite love story in the movie is one that is between Jamie and Aurelia. Jamie is an English writer who retreated to a cottage in France to write during the autumn. Aurelia, from Brazil, helped to tidy up/clean up the writer’s den. The man gives the woman a ride home daily.

Jamie doesn’t speak Portuguese. Similarly, Aurelia doesn’t speak English. Here’s an exchange between the two of them:

Jamie: [in English] It’s my favorite time of day, driving you.
Aurelia: [in Portuguese] It’s the saddest part of my day, leaving you.

Finally, autumn is over. Aurelia returned to Brazil and Jamie to his life in London (I think). Meanwhile, Jamie took night classes in a language school to learn Portuguese. The movie doesn’t mention the life of Aurelia in her home country.

Fast-forward to the final scene between Jamie and Aurelia. Jamie abandoned his family on Christmas eve/day (after delivering the presents) and caught a flight to Brazil. Here’s the dialogue between our two characters where Jamie appeared in the restaurant where Aurelia works:

Jamie: [in Portuguese] Beautiful Aurelia, I’ve come here with a view of asking you to marriage me. I know I seems an insane person – because I hardly knows you – but sometimes things are so transparency, they don’t need evidential proof. And I will inhabit here, or you can inhabit with me in England. Of course I don’t expecting you to be as foolish as me, and of course I prediction you say no… but it’s Christmas and I just wanted to … check.
Aurelia: [in English] Thank you. That will be nice. Yes is being my answer. Easy question.
[People in the restaurant standing up and applauding]
Jamie: [in English] You learnt English?
Aurelia: [in English] Just in cases.

There you go. I’m a softie at heart. Happy Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

